Avocado Sauce for burgers + Seasoned Fries!


Burgers and Fries. There’s just something about it. Them. Together.

A grilled hamburger is, by default, delicious. Avocado is, by default, delectable. So tonight, Dad grilled burgers (seasoned with Worcestershire, seasoned salt, and black pepper while grilling) and I made a cool green Avocado Sauce for topping. It’s fresh and clean and simply good.

It occurs to my dad to heat up the big cast-iron pot full of oil for deep-frying the way you might preheat the oven when it’s time for dinner.

We deep-fry quite often, and my mother, whom I will lovingly refer to as a ‘salt fiend,’ has an obsession with french fries. Homemade french fries. She coats them in salt, and at the meal’s end she pulls the salt from the plate with her finger, landing it joyfully in her mouth.

I love french fries too, but I prefer to season them a bit more zesty. Tonight Dad braved chilling temperatures to grill burgers and fry our french fries on the porch. I mixed some spices together and seasoned those hot crispy fries right out of the oil. So easy to add a little perk of flavor!

I’m happy as a lark this eve, the whole family around the kitchen table (even big brother, home from law school!) chomping on burgers and fries. Don’t be alarmed. It’s perfectly wonderful to get a homemade burger-and-fry fix occasionally. Regularly, even. We’re still healthy and sassy.

Zesty Seasoning for fries
makes about 1/3 cup of seasoning

½ tbsp each: onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cumin
1 tbsp chili powder
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp salt
freshly ground black pepper

Mix everything together in a bowl. Sprinkle on fries when they are fresh from the hot oil, and toss to lightly coat. (I put my seasoning in an empty spice container with holes for easy shaking and sprinkling!)

Avocado Sauce for burgers

1 ripe avocado
1 tbsp mayo
1 tbsp sour cream
1 tsp Dijon mustard
2 tsp lemon juice
¼ tsp garlic powder
salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste
a kick of cayenne or hot sauce if your mother likes it

Mash the avocado in a bowl, then stir everything else in until smooth.

9 thoughts on “Avocado Sauce for burgers + Seasoned Fries!

  1. What an insanely delicious combination! I had a really good burger and hand-cut fries at our favorite old-Texas steakhouse this afternoon and just reading your post, I’d be ready to dive right on in for a second burger-and-fries round for stuff this fabulous! You naughty woman you. 🙂

      • And what isn’t better with pork fat?? Of course, you could go with the Belgian tradition of horse fat (I’ll pass, thanks!) or a nice one that’s popular here in TX steak country, beef fat (I can vouch for that one!).
        Cheers right back atcha!
        Kathryn

  2. There’s just something about homemade French fries made at home with your family! One of my favorite memories as a child was my momma making those salty, delicious “homefries” to soothe a sore throat. They cure anything from sore throats to broken hearts if ya ask me…. ❤
    BRILLIANT!

    • Yes, French Fries certainly bring my family together. Things like Coffee, Sausage Balls, and any sort of cheese also come to mind. Heck, all we do is eat and drink (and be merry). I’m glad to inspire good memories for you!

Leave a Reply

