Tortilla Pizza for One


Listen. I realize what I’m about to post isn’t a particularly fancy dish. But it also occurs to me that you, whoever you are, reader, might not have the time or desire to cook even the mildly complicated and time-consuming dishes I usually blog about.

I’ve made this type of thing for years, but it occurs to me that maybe you don’t do this. And maybe you’d like to. And maybe you, like me, almost always have tortillas around.

So, this one’s for you, person on a lunch break, person happily single who wants a delicious dish for one, or 25-year-old person who is at home at midday because the rest of her family works and she won’t commit to a full-time job yet (and has only mild anxieties about this fact). Um, perhaps that’s just me (but surely not…)

So, here’s my lunch:

Burrito-size flour tortilla

topped with

tomato sauce*
a sprinkle of fennel seeds (this gives great flavor!)
spinach leaves
mozzarella
chopped sun-dried tomatoes
freshly ground black pepper and a drizzle of olive oil

Baked at 400 degrees F for 10-12 minutes

But you know how to do pizza. You top your pizza with whatever you like/have on hand. These all happen to be toppings that I normally have in my fridge or pantry. And I have an easy pizza sauce technique I’ve been using for years:

______________________________
Quick Easy Pizza Sauce

Put some tomato paste in a bowl (for one tortilla pizza, I used about 1 ½ tablespoons tomato paste). Add enough warm water to thin the tomato paste to a sauce consistency (tomato paste and water in a 1:1 ratio works nicely). Stir in some minced garlic and Italian herbs (like Basil, Oregano, and Marjoram, or a mixture like Herbes de Provence). Add a bit of coarse ground black pepper and salt to taste (but remember your toppings are usually salty). Add a bit of cayenne if you like it spicy. Stir it all together and use it immediately, or refrigerate it a couple of hours so the flavors can marry.
__________________________________

So, try making a pizza on a tortilla. Bake it on a pizza/cookie sheet with holes (AirBake) for a nice crisp crust. And you know, a few of these sliced up could be an easy tasty appetizer for a party!

And you know what else? I think I’m going to serve these to my family for dinner soon, with a salad. Who doesn’t love a personal pizza?

This is a good idea.

5 thoughts on “Tortilla Pizza for One

  1. Wow, this reminds me of the English muffin pizzas that were, like, my favorite thing to eat as a kid! Love I’m-eating-at-home-alone-and-can-do-what-I-want food.

    • Yes, eat that–it’s too easy!

      …and thanks for your interest–
      I believe you just go to my home page and enter your email address in the box below the “follow my blog” blurb…let me know if it’s not working correctly(?).

      • Thanks for the help–I think it’s working now (the email tab wasn’t showing on my computer when I’d looked there before), so I should be able to get notifications. Yay!

Leave a Reply

